KA HUI O KA MOKUʻĀINAʻO OʻAHU KE KULA KIʻEKIʻEʻO MOANALUA 4 MEI 2019

REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE ON RULES (HOIKE A KE KOMITE NO NA RULA)

Aloha O'ahu County Delegates,

It is with pleasure and great pride that we humbly submit the following report of the Convention Rules Committee for the 2019 O'ahu County Democrats' Convention. The Rules Committee met at Kalākaua Intermediate School on 20 April 2019 to review the rules changes proposed by members that were submitted by the submission deadline.

The Committee recommends adopting the following Bylaws changes, identified by section:

1. In **Section 2.11**, "Election of Executive Committee", *inserting* the underlined as follows:

With the exception of the Chair and Vice Chair and Regional Chairpersons, each member of the Executive Committee shall be elected by a majority of the votes cast at the O'ahu County Convention in odd-numbered years. The Chair and Vice Chair will run on a combined slate and shall be elected at the same convention by a majority vote cast for the combined slate."

- 2. Within **Section 5.1**, "Eligibility" for Elections, *adding* the underlined after the first sentence, "Election to the positions of Chair and Vice Chair shall be combined as a slate with two different genders, so as to assure diversity in these leadership positions. They will be voted upon as one slate."
- **3.** Amend **Section 9.1**, to *insert* "Affirmative Action", after the word "membership", so as to read, "There shall be standing committees on rules, finance, legislation, membership, affirmative action, elections and convention planning."
- 4. For **Section 9.2,** "Legislation Committee", which begins with "The Legislation Committee shall be", the rest of the resultant paragraph would be *deleted*:

"charged with compiling information and promoting action on legislative projects in keeping with the O'ahu County Democratic Party Platform, drafting or having drafted appropriate measures and cooperating with the proper officials and members of the Federal, State, and County legislative bodies, and other agencies and organizations, in having such legislation introduced and passed. One of the co-chairs of the Legislation Committee shall report to the OCC at its regular meetings on the activities of the Legislation Committee, and on the cooperation received from various officials and board members."

In the place of the prior, the following inserted language makes the Legislative Committee:

"responsible for promoting the passage of legislation and resolutions at the Honolulu City Council and the Hawai'i State Legislature consistent with the positions of the Democratic Party as expressed in the platform and resolutions adopted at the O'ahu County Convention, or by a vote of the O'ahu County Committee (OCC). The Legislation Committee shall prepare a plan for approval by the OCC prior to each legislative session and shall provide timely reports to the OCC during the session and throughout the year for the Honolulu City Council and shall be subject to oversight by the OCC. The Legislation Committee shall be responsible for matters delegated or duties as from timeto-time maybe assigned to it by the Chair and/or OCC."

5. Within **Section 9**, "Standing and Special Committees", a section 9.8 added to read:

Affirmative Action Committee. The Affirmative Action Committee shall be responsible for developing the OCC Affirmative Action Plan, tracking its implementation, and reporting results to the OCC. It shall also be responsible for providing advice and assistance to all Regions and Districts to assure full participation and equal opportunity of Hawai'i's diverse population in the Oahu County Committee (inclusive of its regions, districts, and precincts), its programs and activities. The AA Committee may advocate legislative measures impacting upon under-represented groups.

6. Adding a **new Section 11**, entitled "<u>Alternative Dispute Resolution</u>", to read as follows:

In addition to assigning a complaint to the rules committee or a special investigative committee pursuant to Article 1, section 8B.5 of the Bylaws of the Democratic Party of Hawai'i, the County Chair shall appoint a neutral mediator, if agreed upon by the parties to the complaint, to attempt to reach an amicable resolution between the parties to the complaint. The neutral mediator shall find a place and time to meet with the accused and the complainant together and shall attempt to mediate an agreement between the parties that resolves the matters within the complaint. The process required by this section shall run in concurrence with the complaint process as provided by the Bylaws of the Democratic Party of Hawai'i.

The details of these changes are shown, in 'Ramseyer' format, in the attached copy of the current Bylaws. In addition, the Rules Committee authorizes the O'ahu County Democrats' Secretary to correct any typographical errors in the Bylaws, or any provisions found to be inconsistent with the changes adopted by the Convention.

Three other proposed amendments were discussed, but not recommended. These concerned the creation of a Standing Referral Committee, investing the Rules Committee with the responsibility for all Complaint Investigations and the authoring of the Investigative Committee Report, and a contrasting proposal for gender parity between the County Chairperson and the County Vice Chairperson. The last proposal was withdrawn by the maker.

The meeting was adjourned by co-chairs Armstrong and Fernandez. The co-chairs expressed appreciation to all of the committee members for their attendance and thoughtful, informed decisions.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of all the Committee Members,

DYLAN P. ARMSTRONG ERYNN FERNANDEZ
COMMITTEE CO-CHAIR COMMITTEE CO-CHAIR

ATTACHMENT: OCC Amended Bylaws

COMMITTEE MEMBERS (1_ SIGNED IN)

Dylan P. Armstrong, Erynn Fernandez, Michael Golojuch, Jr., Matt Heede, Teri Heede, Daniel Jacob, T.J. Jasper, M. Leimomi Khan, Richard Oshiro, Justin Salisbury, Michael Tada

4 May 2019: ALL CHANGES RECOMMENDED _____ ABOVE, WITH THE EXCEPTION OF RULE CHANGE ___ WAS ADOPTED BY THE DELEGATES TO THE OCC CONVENTION BY MAJORITY VOTE. RULE CHANGE ____ WAS NOT ADOPTED. (Erynn Fernandez and Dylan Armstrong, co-chairs)